Winnable

Open tenders / Medical supplies & equipment

Planned procurement · Notice 102574-2026

Shropshire NHS Health Check Programme – Point-of-Care Testing

Shropshire Council

Value
£255k
Stage
Early notice
Where
West Midlands
Lots
1
Suitable for SMEs
Not stated
Contract
1 Apr 2027 – 31 Mar 2028

In plain English

Shropshire Council wants a supplier to keep supplying and supporting its Afinion AS100 and Afinion 2 blood-testing machines used in the NHS Health Check programme in Shropshire, including Abbott test cartridges, quality-control materials, training, technical support and equipment maintenance or replacement. This is a preliminary market engagement, not yet open for bids: the council is asking suppliers for feedback, the requirements are indicative, and it has made no commitment to buy; the contract is estimated at £255,000, or £75,000 to £85,000 a year, from 1 April 2027 to 31 March 2028.

Good fit for: Suppliers or distributors of Abbott Afinion point-of-care test cartridges and the related equipment support.

The catch (with the notice's own words):
  • Must supply and support Afinion machines Suppliers must be able to supply and support the existing Afinion AS100 and Afinion 2 devices, with authorised Abbotts consumables
  • No guaranteed volumes or commitment to buy Requirements are indicative and subject to supplier feedback, with no commitment to procure or guarantee of activity volumes.

Written with AI from the official notice. Check the notice before relying on it.

What the buyer says

Supply and support the current Afinion AS100 and Afinion 2 point-of-care testing for Shropshire’s NHS Health Check programme, including the provision of Abbotts lipid and HbA1c test cartridges, internal quality-control materials, ancillary items, training, technical support, together with maintenance and equipment repair or replacement options. Requirements are indicative and subject to supplier feedback, with no commitment to procure or guarantee of activity volumes. Description Shropshire Council’s NHS Health Check programme is delivered primarily through general practice, using near-patient blood analysis within a single appointment to enable immediate cardiovascular risk assessment, appropriate follow-up and referral. The Council is seeking to continue the service utilising the established Afinion POCT model. The Council currently operates approximately 30 analysers, with estimated annual requirements of 9,000 lipid and 5,000 HbA1c test cassettes. These volumes are indicative only and are not guaranteed. Suppliers must be able to supply and support the existing Afinion AS100 and Afinion 2 devices, with authorised Abbotts consumables, reagents, internal quality-control materials and ancillary items. The Council is undertaking preliminary market engagement with suppliers able to support it’s existing Afinion-based point-of-care testing service. It seeks feedback on delivery arrangements, support and maintenance models, initial and refresher training, indicative pricing and opportunities for service improvement, while retaining and improving it’s stock of Afinion AS100 and Afinion 2 devices. The Council has prepared an outline service specification, and supplier feedback will inform the refinement of these indicative requirements. The intended service outcomes are to: …

What happens next

This is an early notice: the buyer is planning a tender, and its documents come when the tender is published. Read the official notice for the details.

Procedure: not stated. Published 29 Oct 2026.

Similar open tenders

Want tenders like this, matched to your firm?

Winnable emails the few new tenders that fit you each weekday, with the catch spelled out. £29/month after a 14-day free trial (no card needed).

Start free trial